Balance or Excuse?

old-typewriterI feel like we live in a world where the extreme achieve their goals. Sometimes I see the wreckage of that extreme focus on the rest of someone’s life, sometimes not. So, I wonder, will I ever really achieve what I want to achieve in writing since I am not following an extreme path? I don’t spend every available moment writing in isolation from my family and friends. I tell myself that I’m trying to achieve a level of balance. Yes, I love to write and believe I can finish the nth draft of my book. I believe I can write a second, third and fourth book.

My next post will describe my writing process in more detail. I’ve been invited to a blog hop about writing process. For now, I’ll say that I write only on the weekends. During the week there is work, spending time with my wife, my friends, and reading. A teacher I had once said that one must live life in order to write about it. I believe living life and reading good books are the best compost and fertilizer for my writing. So, instead of hermiting away during the week, I live life with my family and spend time reading and learning.

The weekends are my writing time. Everyone else sleeps in on Sat/Sun. I get up at my normal time of 5am and do the normal morning things before settling in to write for 3-4 hours. Initially, when I decided to write a book, I wrote every day and blogged about those daily experiences here. I think that was fine, but not sustainable for me right now.

Every writer is different. I’m torn inside because I wonder if I’m pursuing/achieving balance, or just making excuses for not writing every day. I guess it doesn’t matter, but I’m just saying that I do have that internal struggle.

-Ty

11 comments
  1. I am in total sympathy with your dilemma. Even retired, I have trouble allocating time to all the important things (people coming top). If it comforts you, I have written (and published) two books, and written and in the process of publishing two more. It’s a sort of organic process and sometimes other things take over for a bit, then you knuckle down again. There is no need to be extreme, unless you want nothing else in life – which would be dull.

  2. All of us have a different processes. The important point is sticking to what works and finishing. I am very fortunate to be able to write full time without the distractions of so called work (although this writing thing is work). I do family and honey-dos in the morning and write after lunch till dinner.

    • tyroper said:

      Thanks. Great to know you prioritize family, too.

  3. Jools said:

    One of the things I have realised about writing and writers is that everyone does things differently – and that there’s no right or wrong, just the way *you* write. Don’t let yourself be undermined by judgements which would seem to imply that you are any less of a writer because you don’t write every day. Because if you wrote every day, there would doubtless be someone out there waiting to make you feel inadequate because you got up at 6am and not 5 am, or you didn’t go for a run to clear your head first, or you used the wrong sort of pen. Just keep doing it, because whether you write for 5 hours a day, or 5 hours a week, eventually you’ll have a book on your per hands. I was down to 500 words a week at one point, due to work commitments, but that 500 words keep the juices flowing and the door open, and eventually more time became available.

  4. Everyone goes at their own pace. Extreme can reach it quicker, but you already pointed out that sacrifice. You’re doing good by your own life and goals, so the pace of other authors shouldn’t matter.

  5. I am so grateful to have found your post and then to discover you are following mine, thank you so much! Your thought process is very interesting as well as educational. As someone who is just about to publish her third book but first non-fiction one, I found writing non-fiction more challenging than novel and certainly less so than a novella.

    When I get caught up in writing everything else falls by the wayside and suddenly six to seven hours have flown by. Praise God I have a very understanding husband and like you, try to write when “spouse is out of the house.” I’ll be looking forward to reading more great tips.

    Speaking of tips, got any advice for trying to remember a great plot idea or twist that comes to mind when I’m driving or out walking the dog and haven’t paper available? (Being a nutritionist I need to read my own writings to remember how to keep my brain cells!) Thanks and I’m honored you are following my blog – right back atcha!

    • tyroper said:

      If I have an idea and can, I try to use my mobile phone’s recording app. I don’t beat myself up if I forget ideas because I expect to be blessed with more ideas in the future. All the best!

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

If I Ruled the World

Vote for me, 2033

PRINCESS KICK-ASS

Jean-Luc Picard.

Martian

Truth is a pain to accept

Archaeodeath

Archaeology, Mortality & Material Culture

The Journal Of Antiquities

Ancient Sites In Great Britain & Southern Ireland

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Chaos Theory and Pharmacology

A blog dedicated to the study of complex relationships in pharmacology. “Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed: everything else is public relations.” ― George Orwell | CC-0

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

tessmadeja

travel, holidays,leisure

SURVIVING THE DOOM

THE REALLY BAD NEWS AGGREGATOR

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Publishing Insights

Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose / The more things change, the more they stay the same

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

sheila sea

like thalassic velvet

SIUQUXEBOOKS

Book recommendations,inspirational quotes,blogging and social

ALWAYS INVISIBLE

I just want you to know who I am

Written in ink, not stone

like and follow me!! Thanks for visiting, much appreciated

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Eye Will Not Cry

"Eye Fly High"

londonunpublishing

About a process

Attached To Brunei

Born & Bred in the Abode of Peace

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Eric Weiskott

Assistant Professor of English at Boston College

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Living Young & Free with God

I speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves, for those who are crushed in spirit. I speak up for those who are poor in confidence,and see that they may be encouraged to live up their dreams.

Terribly Write

Terrible Writing on the Web. And Writing Terribly Well for the Web

MY TROUBLED MIND

confessions are self-serving

chandleur

Bagatelle

Felicity Johns

This site is rated for MA audiences only.

Caustic Synergy

United and alone in the world

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

