Making Progress by not making progress

sisyphus12I’m not progressing on my novel. I’ve been stuck since March. But, I’m progressing greatly on the story, and that’s exciting!

I’ve been ignoring the need to answer questions about the novel. Like “how did the world get this way?”, “what happened?”, “why do the people live like that?”. Now I’m not going to put an orgy of backstory into the novel, but my little glimpses were shallow and weak because I hadn’t fully explored their possibilities. So, I’ve been stuck. Stuck with a rock. Sitting down every weekend to write and just pushing the same rock up a foot higher and having it roll back by Sunday night.

Eureka! I just needed to write about “how the world got this way”. Not for someone to read, but for me to understand. I was reticent to do this work because it feels like a waste of time and I want to get this damn book finished. *sigh* But, I think it might be essential. It got me around the rock and headed up the mountain this weekend. And that’s something.

Write well.
Write often.
Enjoy yourself.

Ty

 

10 comments
  1. Do you make an outline for your novel before you write it? Or do you just have a few themes that you want to include and not have much plot directions planned?

    • tyroper said:

      I did just use themes for my first couple drafts. But I was stuck with too many plot holes. I’ve been planning through the novel now and it is helping. Now I know I can finish the book and that it will make sense.

  2. Aloha Ty,

    You have my sympathy – I know this problem.

    You also have my admiration – you seem to have arrived at a solution far quicker than I did. Just keep writing, and rewriting, and rewriting – every day. Is that the answer? I pretend that it is anyway.

    Some days my story gets longer – other days it gets better.

    A Hui Hou (until next time),
    Wayne

    • tyroper said:

      Yeah, running into this roadblock helped me understand why I should do character profiles, place descriptions, and just general background history. But, I love to write, I don’t like sitting and thinking without writing. So, if I can’t make progress on the novel itself, I can still write around and about the novel. And that’s progress!
      Cheers

  3. charliebritten said:

    Of course you need to work out the back story and your reader doesn’t necessarily need to hear the whole of it. I think you may have hit the ‘Chapter 11 syndrome’, whereby the initial excitement has dissipated and you are coming to grips with the novel proper. Take time out to think by all means. When you get back to writing, you may well feel the need to go back to the beginning. I have, I have to confess… er… several times.

    • tyroper said:

      Thanks. There’s a name for it! I’ve definitely hit Chapter 11 syndrome. I’m starting to enjoy working it out. Thanks for the comment.

  4. Good luck. I get that from people a few times and I do the same thing. I jot down notes and dream about the world. Eventually everything will come together.

    • tyroper said:

      Thanks! So much to learn about this writing thing. I’m learning I need to relax and just let the book happen. Of course I have to write, write, write, and write along the way.

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

If I Ruled the World

Vote for me, 2033

PRINCESS KICK-ASS

Jean-Luc Picard.

Martian

Truth is a pain to accept

Archaeodeath

Archaeology, Mortality & Material Culture

The Journal Of Antiquities

Ancient Sites In Great Britain & Southern Ireland

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Chaos Theory and Pharmacology

A blog dedicated to the study of complex relationships in pharmacology. “Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed: everything else is public relations.” ― George Orwell | CC-0

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

tessmadeja

travel, holidays,leisure

SURVIVING THE DOOM

THE REALLY BAD NEWS AGGREGATOR

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Publishing Insights

Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose / The more things change, the more they stay the same

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

sheila sea

like thalassic velvet

SIUQUXEBOOKS

Book recommendations,inspirational quotes,blogging and social

ALWAYS INVISIBLE

I just want you to know who I am

Written in ink, not stone

like and follow me!! Thanks for visiting, much appreciated

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Eye Will Not Cry

"Eye Fly High"

londonunpublishing

About a process

Attached To Brunei

Born & Bred in the Abode of Peace

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Eric Weiskott

Assistant Professor of English at Boston College

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Living Young & Free with God

I speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves, for those who are crushed in spirit. I speak up for those who are poor in confidence,and see that they may be encouraged to live up their dreams.

Terribly Write

Terrible Writing on the Web. And Writing Terribly Well for the Web

MY TROUBLED MIND

confessions are self-serving

chandleur

Bagatelle

Felicity Johns

This site is rated for MA audiences only.

Caustic Synergy

United and alone in the world

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

