The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

I’ve been tagged for the The Next Big Thing Blog Hop. By Pete Denton over at http://petedenton.wordpress.com/. This is very exciting, and very scary, as this will be only the second time I’ve described the book. Only my wife has heard the details. So, here goes.

NextBigThing

For those of you not familiar with this Blog Hop started on She Writes and it has spread like a wildfire all over the blogosphere. It’s an opportunity to post about your latest WIP. Here’s how it works: If I tag you, use this format for your post
. Include an introduction to your interview post and a link to the person who tagged you for participation.
 Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (Work In Progress). Include some pictures if possible. Tag five other writers/bloggers by sending them an email or commenting on their blogs and then add their links to the end of your interview post. The original posts stated their answers should go up the week after. Take your time. Post when you are ready. The blog post should be labelled:
 The Next Big Thing Blog Hop. Easy enough. Post and have fun.

Time for the questions!

1. What is the working title of your book? The Border

2. Where did the idea come from for the book? I spent Sept-Nov 2012 thinking of a setting for a communicating a concept about relationships. The book got birthed over the 60+ days of writing. Some of the story surprised me.

3. What genre does your book fall under? Dystopian.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? The two main characters should be played by actors that are strong physically and emotionally. Like an early 20’s version of actors like Jessica Biel and Channing Tatum.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? After Dibyn Adwy is shot while on duty at the Peace Border, he is given an undercover assignment to find the dissidents, possibly his shooter, and destroy the inside reservation, which holds religious fundamentalists.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? I am planning to try the traditional publishing route. I think the experience of a literary agent is necessary for my development as a writer.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? I’m done with the initial content writing phase, but am currently editing the scenes into chapters. The initial writing took 63 days.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? The book is  Alternate History/Dystopian fiction. Hard to compare.

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book? I am driven to be creative in some manner of expression. I worked at expressing myself with music for a number of years and realized the part of music I liked best was writing lyrics. I took a  class from Berkleeonline “Finding Your Voice“. That class motivated me to try prose.

10. What else about your book might piqué the reader’s interest? Though the book has a dystopian setting, the book is really about the various relationships between the characters and the decisions they have to make.

Here are the writers I’m tagging. Check out their blogs, and look for their posts coming to a computer screen or smart phone near you soon!

  1. Legends of Windemere
  2. Angst  — (book recently published)
  3. The Novel Conqueror
  4. Kimberly Mellor
  5. Adventure for Words

I’ve enjoyed participating in the The Next Big Thing Blog Hop.

Thanks for the invite, Pete!.

8 comments
  1. Practice that pitch!!! Talking about your book is the hardest thing isn’t it? If you plan on going the agent route you’ll need to do it and do it often. I had an author ask me about what my book was about at a writer’s conference a few months ago and I actually froze up. I think I might have even been a little embarrassed! I’m beefing up for the next one and practicing the pitch all the time. Good luck with your novel and congratulations on the award!

    • tyroper said:

      Thank you. I’ve frozen when friends have asked me.

      First pitch for the book will be at the PNWA conference in July.
      I’m researching each of the available Agents and Editors over the next months.

  2. No problem. Thanks for accepting the nomination.

    Of all the blogging awards that are floating around out there, I think this is the best one for writers to promote their WIP. I like the sounds of your book. Best of look with it all.

    • tyroper said:

      Thank you. Yeah, it is a great award.

  3. thenerdyscribe said:

    Wow! Your book sounds really great. 🙂 It takes a lot a hard work and patience to write a book! Hope to see it in a bookstore or library if I get the chance. Best of luck!

    • tyroper said:

      Thanks. I like your poetry style. I’ll be stopping by.

  4. Xorplon said:

    Brilliant. I hope good things come from this 🙂
    -C.W.S

    • tyroper said:

      Thanks! Best wishes on The Gaia Chronicles.

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

If I Ruled the World

Vote for me, 2033

PRINCESS KICK-ASS

Jean-Luc Picard.

Martian

Truth is a pain to accept

Archaeodeath

Archaeology, Mortality & Material Culture

The Journal Of Antiquities

Ancient Sites In Great Britain & Southern Ireland

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Chaos Theory and Pharmacology

A blog dedicated to the study of complex relationships in pharmacology; with a medicolegal perspective. “Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed: everything else is public relations.” ― George Orwell | CC-0

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

tessmadeja

travel, holidays,leisure

SURVIVING THE DOOM

THE REALLY BAD NEWS AGGREGATOR

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Publishing Insights

Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose / The more things change, the more they stay the same

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

sheila sea

like thalassic velvet

SIUQUXEBOOKS

Book recommendations,inspirational quotes,blogging and social

ALWAYS INVISIBLE

I just want you to know who I am

Written in ink, not stone

like and follow me!! Thanks for visiting, much appreciated

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Eye Will Not Cry

"Eye Fly High"

londonunpublishing

About a process

Attached To Brunei

Born & Bred in the Abode of Peace

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Eric Weiskott

Assistant Professor of English at Boston College

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Living Young & Free with God

I speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves, for those who are crushed in spirit. I speak up for those who are poor in confidence,and see that they may be encouraged to live up their dreams.

Terribly Write

Terrible Writing on the Web. And Writing Terribly Well for the Web

MY TROUBLED MIND

confessions are self-serving

chandleur

Bagatelle

Felicity Johns

This site is rated for MA audiences only.

Caustic Synergy

United and alone in the world

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

